Pennington's Department Store

(Aria Fiction)

 

July 2018

Pennington’s Department Store #1

Amazon (US) || Amazon (UK) || Apple Books 
B&N Nook || BookBub || GoodReads 

Google Play || Indigo || Kindle (US)
Kindle (UK)  || Kobo

1910 – A compelling tale of female empowerment in Bath’s leading department store. Perfect for the fans of the TV series Mr Selfridge and The Paradise.

Elizabeth Pennington should be the rightful heir of Bath’s premier department store through her enterprising schemes and dogged hard work. Her father, Edward Pennington believes his daughter lacks the business acumen to run his empire and is resolute a man will succeed him.

Determined to break from her father’s iron-clad hold and prove she is worthy of inheriting the store, Elizabeth forms an unlikely alliance with ambitious and charismatic master glove-maker Joseph Carter. United they forge forward to bring Pennington’s into a new decade, embracing woman’s equality and progression whilst trying not to mix business and pleasure.

Can this dream team thwart Edward Pennington’s plans for the store? Or will Edward prove himself an unshakeable force who will ultimately ruin both Elizabeth and Joseph?

(Can Be Read as a Stand-Alone)

“A beautifully written story about a young Edwardian woman ahead of her time. Elizabeth Pennington, daughter of a department store owner, is highly intelligent and talented, but her father will not permit her to serve as his business heir. She challenges him with the help of glove maker Joseph Carter, who supports her wish for more equal societal standing. An elegant read! 5/5

~Literary Soiree

“Very well written with characters I really cared about, this historical novel will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and Selfridges historical television series. A well rounded historical novel filled with growth potential and champions to root for.”

~Lara S. Reading

The Mistress of Pennington’s is dynamic and filled with energy, spirit and hope. A beautiful must-read filled with passion, fierceness and strength.”

~With Love for Books

“A captivating read that touched my heart deeply and is currently one of my top 5 favorite books to have read so far this year. A brilliant 5 Stars!”

~Clare & Lou’s Mad About Books

February 2019

Pennington’s Department Store #2

Amazon Kindle (US) || Amazon Kindle (UK)  
BookBub || GoodReads || 
Google Play
Indigo || Kobo


One woman’s journey to find herself and help secure the vote. Perfect for the fans of the TV series Mr. Selfridge and The Paradise.

1911 Bath. Banished from her ancestral home, passionate suffrage campaigner, Esther Stanbury works as a window dresser in Pennington’s Department Store. She has hopes and dreams for women’s progression and will do anything to help secure the vote.

Owner of the prestigious Phoenix Hotel, Lawrence Culford has what most would view as a successful life. But Lawrence is harbouring shame, resentment and an anger that threatens his future happiness.

When Esther and Lawrence meet, their mutual understanding of life’s challenges unites them and they are drawn to the possibility of a life of love that neither thought existed.

With the Coronation of King-Emperor George V looming, the atmosphere in Bath is building to fever pitch, as is the suffragists’ determination to secure the vote.

Will Esther’s rebellious nature lead her to ruin, or can they overcome their pasts and look to build a future together?

(Can Be Read as a Stand-Alone)

Get on the  A-List

If you'd like to receive Rachel's quarterly and new release newsletters, feel free to sign up here!

We never share or sell your information. Your data and inbox is taken seriously, and treated with respect. By using this form, you consent to being signed up to Rachel's newsletter through MailChimp - click here for their privacy policy - and acknowledge that you have read and agree with this site's privacy policy.

Join Us for Books & Virtual Tea!

If you'd like to receive Rachel's quarterly and new release newsletters, feel free to sign up here:

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This